BRHS Senior, Erina Buchholz Named 2018 Presidential Scholar

Baton Rouge High School Senior Erina Buchholz is one of 161 U.S. Presidential Scholars named today by U. S. Secretary of Education, Betsy DeVos. Presidential Scholars receive a trip to Washington D. C.  where they will meet our nation’s leaders and receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion in a ceremony at The White House. Buchholz who scored a 36 on the ACT is a National Advanced Placement Scholar, a National Merit Scholarship Finalist, EBR High School Student of the Year, and a Finalist for Louisiana Student of the Year. Next year she will attend the University of Indiana on the Wells Scholarship. 

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. Of the 3.6 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 5,200 candidates qualified for the 2018 awards determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams, through nominations made by Chief State School Officers, other partner recognition organizations or the National YoungArts Foundation’s nationwide YoungArts™ competition.

The 2018 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts and 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education. The 2018 ceremony will be held June 24, when each honoree will receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion. 

Erina is a true Bulldog leader and we are proud of all of her accomplishments! Congratulations Erina, keep on “raising the standards high!”